Going back to school

My Friday fave this week is…

Getting to go back to University!!

I have always done well at school because I wanted good grades. To get A’s or B’s in school was a good thing and most of the kids strive to get them. When I went into University the first time I was very confused. It was nothing like high school at all but in my mind I associated it with high school. I did my work, got good grades and graduated. Near the end of my first year of University I just wanted to get out of there and get a job in my field. I didn’t pray about continuing my education at University, I just made my decision about what I want to do and followed through with it.

Fast forward about a few years later and I am back at school. Why would I go back to University? This time I feel ready to go back. I have prayed about it immensely. I have talked with family members about it and have the support from them. In my heart, I know God wants me to do this. Sometimes I have doubted Him. This was not an easy choice to decide. I would go back and forth in my head weighing out the pros and cons of both situations. I would hesitate about going back to school because I would “worry” about my bills not getting paid or not having enough money to pay for tuition.  I would get these negative thoughts in my head about how I am not that smart to be going back to school. These thoughts were so absurd but I would still believe them!

The verse that got me to jump back into the scary University pond was Matthew 6:25-34 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what will you wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life…” God takes care of the birds and animals yet I can’t trust Him to take care of me? He created me. He knows how my brain works and how I think. He knows the choices that I am going to make (good or bad) before I make them. I need to trust Him in my life now and in the future.

They say when God closes a door that He opens a window. Later on if He doesn’t want me pursuing school anymore, He will give me another path to follow. I know it may seem easier to say than to do but I believe that if we pursue Him every morning, everyday, every moment, He will give us some of His light in our troubles to help us through. We just have to make it through, and we will with His help.

What are some areas of your life that you need to give up to God? Are you giving Him some of your time in the morning or any time of day?

Leave a Reply

